Ladybirds Nursery Ltd
39 Bradford Street
Contact us
01204 437 020
Email us
[email protected]

Ladybirds Curriculum 2024

The Early Years Foundation Stage covers the first stage of a child's care from birth to five years old. It sets the standards to ensure that all children learn and develop, as well as keeping them healthy and safe.

The EYFS framework explains how and what your child will be learning. Your child will be learning new skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through the 7 areas of learning and development.

The main areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning, as your child grows these prime areas will help them develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. We aim to make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s individual needs. This is similar to a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but is suitable for very young children and is designed to be really flexible so that we can follow your child’s unique needs and interests. Children learn by playing and exploring, by being active, and through creative and critical thinking. This takes place both in and outdoors.

The following pages outline how the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to each of our rooms at Ladybirds Nursery.

Babies Toddlers Pre-School